Tags

, ,

” …and I’m just gonna keep talking here, ’cause I’m afraid that if I stop there’s gonna be a pause or a break and you’re gonna say ‘It’s getting late’ or ‘I should get going’, and I’m not ready for that to happen. I don’t want that to happen. Ever. ” : Barney Panofsky.

Okay, this is my first ever movie review and I hope there are many more to come. I watched this movie around 2 months ago and loved it to the core. It’s quite rare that you find a great movie centered on the life of an offbeat character amidst a sea of summer blockbusters, romantic comedies, thrillers etc…

Intriguing” – That was the word that first came into my mind when I watched the trailer of this movie a long time ago. An impulsive guy finding the love of his life among the guests of his own marriage ceremony. Now, isn’t that interesting?

Barney’s Version is one hell of an emotional, heartwarming dramedy about a quirky, politically incorrect, whimsical guy named ” Barney Panofsky ” and his lifetime of unconventional and sometimes self-destructive dealings with this world. The movie flips back and forth between the past and the present for better half of the reel while slowly setting the stage for a very moving climax all along.

Paul Giamatti steals the show here. Undoubtedly his best acting performance after his road trip classic “Sideways”. Barney is a not so normal Canadian guy who is oblivious of all the worldly conventions. He follows his heart & whims while making every decision and conversation of his life. This habit eventually leads him to this predicament of finding the love of his life (Rosamund Pike) among the guests of his own marriage ceremony (Barney’s second marriage). He instantly falls for her after having his first and only conversation with her and from that instant, follows her with an astounding tenacity until he is finally married to her (Barney’s third marriage). Now story does not just ends here and that’s the better part of it. From the moment of his first marriage to a promiscuous girl he met during his Italy trip after college, till the end of the movie, it captures every little emotion in its frame which you care to see in a biographical drama of a central character and keeps your eyeballs bound to the screen.

Background score was simply mellifluous and pertinent to all the situations in the movie. Some of the visuals especially around the country house were a feast for the eyes. Dustin Hoffman was amazing as the Dad of Barney and an Ex-Cop with some crisp and entertaining dialogues. Technically, I have no qualms with the movie. Characters are very well written, by the end of the movie I was a fan of Barney and his friends, relatives & wives. The movie is around 2 hours and 15 minutes long but length is hardly noticeable while watching it. Movie is very well directed and written. Acting is top of the line. So my advice is DON’T MISS this gem of a movie. If after watching this movie, you happen to agree with my review, then please do yourself another favour by watching the movie “Sideways” also starring Paul Giamatti. I am sure you will like it.

My Rating: 9/10, Second viewing is recommended.

– atams